Brandt Brauer Frick sign up for next DJ-Kicks mix; stream 'Bommel' now

Theo Parrish, Peverelist, and Dean Blunt featured, alongside new tracks by Cosmin TRG and more.

Berlin trio Brandt Brauer Frick have applied their unconventional modus operandi to their DJ-Kicks mix, recording the set in one day at the Watergate club, using only vinyl and dub plates during the afterhours session.

“We didn’t want to record it in our studio or at home, mainly because we preferred an intense session with limited time,” says Paul Frick in a statement. “That feels more like a unique situation and it enforces the tension and the necessity to do it right.

“Because we mixed it live there are mistakes and flaws, some rougher transitions in there. We are not super technical DJs. We like it when you hear those imprecisions because it’s human. It feels like someone is behind the mix, rather than a computer.”

The trio wrote three songs for the mix, including ‘Bommel’, which you can stream below. Dollkraut, Le K, James Braun & Troels, Glenn Astro, and Cosmin TRG produced new songs exclusively for the mix; check out the impressive tracklist below. The offering is due out on February 24 (February 25 in the US) on !K7 Records on CD, vinyl, and digital formats.

01. Jan Jelinek – HipBird
02. Inkswel – Australaborialis
03. Theo Parrish – Electric Alleycat
04. Dollkraut – Rollercoaster *
05. William Onyeabor – Better Change Your Mind
06. Max Graef – Bummse
07. Brandt Brauer Frick – Bommel *
08. Kingdom – Stalker Ha
09. Parental Control – Feel Like / Le K – Abraz *
10. Alfabet (Awanto 3 & Tom Trago) – Lap The Music
11. Fantastic Man – Late At Night
12. Brandt Brauer Frick – Out Of Tash *
13. Galaxy 2 Galaxy feat. Atlantis – Transition
14. Peverelist – Sun Dance
15. DJ Do Bass – To Catchy
16. French Fries – White Screen
17. Chico Mann – Soul Freedom
18. James Braun & Troels Abrahamsen – Wooden Knuckles *
19. Glenn Astro – How I Miss You *
20. Philogresz – Edge
21. Bok Bok & Tom Trago – Vector
22. Cosmin TRG – Echolab Disaster *
23. MMM – Re-tics
24. Jam City – How We Relate To The Body
25. Brandt Brauer Frick – Hugo (DJ-Kicks)
26. Machinedrum – Now U Know Tha Deal 4 Real
27. Thundercat – Tenfold
28. Dean Blunt – Galice



Share Tweet