St. Vincent announces self-titled new album – download first track 'Birth In Reverse'

“A party record you could play at a funeral.”

Pop imagineer Annie Clark, better known as St. Vincent, has announced details of her self-titled fourth album due out in February next year.

As hinted on the fuzzy, faintly Strokes-esque new track ‘Birth in Reverse’, her first album since 2011’s Strange Mercy is billed as a collection of “distorted, aggressive electric guitars”, “ethereal vocal and synthesiser arrangements” and “relentless percussion”.

The album was recorded in Dallas with Dap-Kings drummer Homer Steinweiss and frequent collaborator McKenzie Smith of Midlake along with producer John Congleton. “I wanted to make a party record you could play at a funeral,” explains Clark.

St. Vincent will be available on CD and LP through Loma Vista/Caroline International on February 2014. There’ll also be a limited edition gold triangle 7″ featuring ‘Birth In Reverse’ and ‘Digital Witness’.

Last year Clark teamed up with Talking Heads genius David Byrne to deliver their acclaimed album Love This Giant.

Hear ‘Birth In Reverse’ and download it below:

St. Vincent tracklist:

01 Rattlesnake
02 Birth In Reverse
03 Prince Johnny
04 Huey Newton
05 Digital Witness
06 I Prefer Your Love
07 Regret
08 Bring Me Your Loves
09 Psychopath
10 Every Tear Disappears
11 Severed Crossed Fingers

Download ‘Birth In Reverse’:



Share Tweet