Max Cooper announces debut album Human – hear tearjerking new single 'Adrift'

The UK producer and DJ finally delivers a full-length.

Max Cooper has been pottering around the electronica landscape since the late ’90s, becoming something of a cult figure among fans of melodic and glitchy dancefloor music and making a name for himself as a formidable live performer.

Next year the producer and genetic scientist (everyone needs a day job) will releases his debut album, Human, which is billed as a step away from his catalogue of club music. The LP is preceded by ‘Adrift’, an impossibly gorgeous, faintly Massive Attack-flavoured single featuring vocals from Cooper’s long-time collaborator Kathrin deBoer of Brighton electronic trio Belleruche.

“I had a simple piano chord progression and a randomised percussion idea to give to Kathrin, who captured the feeling beautifully with her lyrics and jazz influenced vocal approach,” he says of the track. “It’s more of a personal piece of music for me than a club track, which is the approach I’ve taken for the whole album.”

Human is due out on March 14, 2014, through Fields, while ‘Adrift’ is out December 16, accompanied by a Raffertie remix. [via RA]

Hear ‘Adrift’:


01 Woven Ancestry
02 Adrift feat. Kathrin deBoer
03 Automaton feat. BRAIDS
04 Supine
05 Seething
06 Numb feat. Kathrin deBoer
07 Impacts
08 Empyrean
09 Apparitions
10 Potency
11 Awakening



Share Tweet