Massive Attack, Roxy Music and Black Sabbath to release limited edition 7"s for charity art project

Lorde and T. Rex records also up for grabs as part of War Child fundraiser.

Massive Attack will re-release their 1995 single ‘Karmacoma’ as a limited edition 7″ this April as one of seven acts participating in the art and music charity initiative Secret 7″.

Coinciding with Record Store Day, the Secret 7″ project will also feature singles by Roxy Music, Black Sabbath, T. Rex, LordeElbow and Jake Bugg.

Each track will be pressed 100 times and packaged in one of 700 hand-designed sleeves, which will then be exhibited in London before being sold for £45 each on Record Store Day a week after. Buyers won’t know which track they’ve nabbed, or who designed the artwork, until after they’ve made their purchase.

Massive Attack’s own Robert Del Naja will be creating one of the 700 sleeves, and there’s still time to submit your own artwork to the project – visit the Secret 7″ website to find out how. The exhibition takes place on April 12-13 at Downstairs At Mother in east London.

Last month FACT revisited Massive Attack’s Mezzanine to tell the story of the group’s classic album on its 15th birthday. The record recently received its first vinyl re-issue, and there’s even a chance that Mad Professor’s 1998 dub version could see the light of day soon.  [via The Vinyl Factory]

Here are the seven tracks picked for the project:

Black Sabbath – ‘Age Of Reason’
Elbow – ‘Grounds For Divorce’
Jake Bugg – ‘Strange Creatures’
Lorde – ‘Team’
Massive Attack – ‘Karmacoma’
Roxy Music – ‘Virginia Plain’
T.Rex – ‘Get It On’

Massive Attack, ‘Karmacoma’:



Share Tweet