Black Opal shines once again. 

Anyone who’s been keeping abreast of the teeming tape underground – or, indeed, checking out our monthly dispatches from cassetteland – will be more than familiar with Opal Tapes – the noirish tape imprint responsible for breakthrough releases from Huerco S, WANDA GROUP, and 1991.

Last year, the imprint launched Black Opal, a sub-label dedicated to vinyl releases from the oddball Opal Tapes family. Having kicked off proceedings with a reissue of Patricia’s gunmetal techno 2013 album Body Issues, Black Opal has now announced its second release, courtesy of caliginous beatmaker (and recent office favourite) Cloudface.

BOP002 will feature seven new tracks from the Mood Hut affiliated producer. No snippets as yet, but the uninitiated are advised to check out his 2012 album Wyre Drive, which recently reappeared on Going Good (and subsequently crept into our most cherished releases of 2014’s first quarter)

BOP002 will arrive in June. [via Resident Advisor]

01. Coffee
02. Babok
03. Let Gone
04. Reduction
05. On None
06. Salamander
07. U & Me



Share Tweet