fact mix lord of the isles home

If consistency breeds success, then crown Neil McDonald a champion.

The Scottish producer has been one of dance music’s most reliable artists for several years now, releasing records on Shevchenko, Phonica and more. And although Lord of the Isles‘ sound is rooted in classic house, boogie and techno – gradually automated drums loops, big Detroit-ish synth melodies, the usual – he’s often at his best when he indulges his love of ambient and early electronic records, crafting vivid tapestries more in tune with the cosmos and the countryside than the club.

With McDonald enjoying a particularly special run of form at the moment – 2014 has already seen EPs on Mule Musiq and Permanent Vacation, while 2013’s ‘Nustron’ found a home in our 100 best tracks of 2013 – and with another 12″ in the pipeline for our friends at Phonica, the time seemed right for a FACT mix, with his own productions enjoying centre stage.


Bryte – Lord of the Isles [unreleased]
Lord of the Isles – 301C Symphony [Permanent Vacation]
Merwyn Sanders – Eternal Freedom (Linkwood Remix) [Hot Shot Sounds]
Dano Aken – Cosmicity [unknown]
Lord of the Isles – Ultraviolet [Adult Contemporary]
Lord of the Isles – Ultraviolet [forthcoming Adult Contemporary]
Tony G – Simple Dreams (Young Marco Remix) [Infinite Juju]
Omar-S – Frogs [FXHE]
Sano – Anestesia [Comeme]
Marquis Hawkes – Roger Funk [DABJ]
Lord of the Isles – Greana [forthcoming Phonica]
Lord of the Isles – Xit [unreleased]



Share Tweet