Cabaret Voltaire to reissue compilation of early works

The post-punk icons continue their run of reissues with #7885 (Electropunk to Technopop 1978 – 1985).

Last year, Cabaret Voltaire teamed with Mute to reissue 1981’s Red Mecca and a compilation entitled #8385 (Collected Works 1983 – 1985) . As the title suggests, #7885 collects the band’s work from ’78 to ’85. “I decided to gather the more concise elements of the work,” writes band member / curator Richard H. Kirk. “Hence the choice of 7” singles, edits and shorter album tracks, a kind of sound bite take on CV.”

The new compilation covers two periods of the band’s development: the Rough Trade period (1978-81) with Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson, and 1983-85, following Watson’s departure and the band’s move to Some Bizzare. Kirk says it “was a time where we got to do what we do, but in different areas, we wanted to push the boundaries of electronic music, we wanted to place what we were doing into places where it really shouldn’t be. We certainly didn’t want to carry on repeating what we’d done for the ten years previous.”

#7885 (Electro Punk to Techno Pop 1978 – 1985) features liner notes by Kirk and Mute founder Daniel Miller and will be available on CD, double vinyl and digital download on July 1. Listen to ‘Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)’ below; the tracklist follows.

1. Do The Mussolini (Headkick)
2. The Set UP
3. Nag Nag Nag
4. On Every Other Street
5. Silent Command
6. Kneel To The Boss
7. Seconds Too Late
8. Landslide
9. Breathe Deep
10. Just Fascination (7” Version)
11. Crackdown (Radio Edit 83)
12. The Dream Ticket (7” Version)
13. Sensoria (7” Version)
14. James Brown (7” Version)
15. Kino (7” Version)
16. Big Funk (7” Version)
17. I Want You (7” Version)
18. Warm



Share Tweet