England's football team have released a compilation, and it's as bad as you'd expect

Universal Music TV have released The England Players’ Playlista predictably rubbish 18-track compilation picked by the England national team.

The musical equivalent of being knocked out of the last 16, the compilation sees 18 England players pick a track each. Unfortunately, renowned indie boy Leighton Baines isn’t present (that’s Modest Mouse’s iTunes royalties for the month halved then), and Tom Cleverley, the toiling midfielder with the Waitrose tan who used to tweet about bassline house has gone for a pretty above board pick, Disclosure’s ‘Me and You’.

Frank Lampard (Bastille) and Michael Carrick’s (‘Blurred Lines’) picks are as lead-footed as you’d expect, while Wayne Rooney continues to fly the flag for dull indie acts by selecting The Lumineers. Fair-weather hipster Daniel Sturridge, predictably, goes mildly against the grain by picking Banks.

Props to Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, however, for selecting the recently FACT-featured Fuse ODG, and boos in the direction of James Milner and Steven Gerrard, who both plumped for Avicii. Still, beats Phil Collins we guess.

Read the whole tracklist below.

Frank Lampard: Bastille – Pompeii
Wayne Rooney: The Lumineers – Ho Hey
Jack Wilshere: Sam Smith – Money On My Mind
Gary Cahill: John Newman – Love Me Again
Phil Jones: Duke Dumont feat. Jax Jones – I Got U
Steven Gerrard: Avicii – Wake Me Up
Glen Johnson: Naughty Boy – La La La
Rickie Lambert: OneRepublic – Counting Stars
Raheem Sterling: Drake – Started From The Bottom
Danny Welbeck: Chase & Status – Blk & Blu
Ross Barkley: Ben Pearce – What I Might Do
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain: Fuse ODG – Antenna
Daniel Sturridge: Banks – This Is What It feels Like
Chris Smalling: Sub Focus – Turn Back Time
Joe Hart: Klangkarussell – Sonnentanz
Michael Carrick: Robin Thicke – Blurred Lines
James Milner: Avicii – I Could Be The One
Tom Cleverley: Disclosure – You & Me



Share Tweet