Kimbra's <em>The Golden Echo</em> LP to feature Flying Lotus, Thundercat and more

The Kiwi alt-popper calls in the big guns for her second album.

Kimbra is best known for featuring on Gotye’s smash hit ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’, and her forthcoming album The Golden Echo will be her first attempt to capitalize on that tune’s global success.

Produced by Rich Costey, The Golden Echo features Flying Lotus, Thundercat, Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth, ex-Mars Volta member Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, John Legend, Bilal and more; Silverchair’s Daniel Johns (remember him?) contributed on songwriting.

The album is due out on August 18. Her new single ’90s Music’ doubles-down on 90s nostalgia, and it features Muse’s Matt Bellamy and Foster The People’s Mark Foster. The video and the album’s tracklist are below. [via Stereogum]

Update 11/06: A disappointing update from Warner Bros. states that the songs Kimbra wrote with FlyLo and Longstreth won’t be used on the album, but will instead be released further down the line. “Bonus tracks on the deluxe edition will include appearances from Ben Weinman of the Dillinger Escape Plan, The Mars Volta’s Omar Rodríguez-López, and Jonas Bjerre of Danish band Mew,” the label states.


01 Teen Heat
02 90s Music
03 Carolina
04 Goldmine
05 Miracle
06 Rescue Him
07 Madhouse
08 Everlovin’ Ya
09 As You Are
10 Love In High Places
11 Nobody But You
12 Waltz Me To Grave



Share Tweet