Roman Flügel is a house cat with many lives.

Over two decades, Flügel’s made peak-period progressive house (with Warp 69), clean-edged techno (Tracks on Delivery), psychedelic club fare (Eight Miles High) and chart-bothering electro (with Alter Ego). To date, though, he’s only released one album under his own name, 2011’s twinkling, pretty Fatty Folders.

In September, Flügel will follow-up Fatty Folders with another alliterative LP offering, Happiness is Happening. The album is Flügel’s second for Dial, and follows a 2013 EP for Clone’s Jack For Daze imprint.

Acording to Flügel, the album will be a more cerebral affair than the first: “Fatty Folders embraced you with a bunch of flowers; Happiness Is Happening is asking for a discussion.”

Happiness Is Happening will drop on September 1. Slightly intimidated by Flügel’s labyrinthine discography? Turn your gaze towards our The Essential…Roman Flügel, which offers 10 excellent places to start.

01. Connecting The Ghost
02. Friendship Song
03. Stuffy
04. Your War Is Over
05. Wilkie
06. Tense Times
07. Parade
08. We Have A Nice Life
09. Occult Levitation
10. All That Matters



Share Tweet