Mixes I by I 21.07.14

FACT mix 451: DJ Orgasmic & Teki Latex

This week’s FACT mix comes from DJ Orgasmic and Teki Latex, two thirds of the team behind France’s Sound Pellegrino label.

Formed in 2009 as a sub-label of Institubes, Sound Pellegrino has spent the last half decade housing club music from both France (Panteros666, Bambounou) and abroad (L-Vis 1990, Teeth), while occasionally combining the two on its Crossover Series, which has introduced the likes of Bok Bok and Tom Trago, and Surkin and Todd Edwards on collaborative singles.

The latest chapter in the Sound Pellegrino story is Raw Club Materiala new compilation that focuses on “function & combinability”, while also evoking “visions of architecture, minerals and metal.” In short, imaginative, idiosyncratic dance music that also tears the club up is the name of the game, and it’s an approach shared by Orgasmic and Latex’s three-deck FACT mix, which features many of the producers – Rabit, Rachett Traxxx – included in Raw Club Material. 

“We tend to favour live blends over bootlegs and edits, and the occasional tweaks and glitches you will hear in this mix are made live using (and abusing) the slip mode on the CDJs nexus”, Latex and Orgasmic explain. “We have always had a hard time choosing between 4/4 and broken rhythms, or between techno and a song format, so we tend to jump from one to the other. We grew fascinated and obsessed by these dualities, and it’s the re-contextualisation and association of these tracks together that create our own version of club music.”


Deniece Williams — Let’s Hear It For The Boy
Bambounou — Idem
Ratchett Traxxx feat. Paul Fisher — On Top
Variete — Drumworks
Friendship — Tool #2
DJ Vague — Hard Working Trax 1
Matthias Zimmermann — Reginald
Akkord — Gradient
Rushmore — Evertrack
Douster & Swick — OS War III
Joe Howe — Untitled
CWS — Untitled 02 (DMX crew remix)
Lokiboi — Let Me See That (Manaré remix)
INOJ — Time After Time
Ratchett Traxxx — Whoreallywannit
MC Bin Laden — Passinho do Farao
Spooky — Coolie Joyride
Matthias Zimmermann & Joe Howe — Jules
L-VIS 1990 & Sinjin Hawke — The Pit
Deke Soto — Black Ice
Rabit — Thug Rotorvator
DJ Cable — Cartridge VIP
Aaliyah — Are You That Somebody (DJ Milktray remix)
Slugabed — Welcome To My Hood



Share Tweet