David Byrne and Fatboy Slim's disco musical gets remix album

Duo’s unlikely stage concept repurposed for the dance floor.

David Byrne and Fatboy Slim’s disco musical Here Lies Love, based on the rise and fall of the shoe-hoarding First Lady of the Philippines Imelda Marcos, has been remixed for a new album.

The remixes were pieced together by Matt Stine and Justin Levine, who both worked on the project’s theatrical adaptation. As Byrne explains, the duo have “deconstructed the recorded music and scrambled it all kinds of ways to make an immersive audio world that merges seamlessly with the music of the show.”

“Sometimes vocals from one song appear over the music of a completely different song, sometimes the orchestra from one song plays over the groove of another. There’s humour and exuberance, and to my ears it all works perfectly,” the Talking Heads frontman added.

Proceeds from the remix album go to Philippines charity Gawad Kalinga – check out samples and pre-order it from the musical’s website ahead of its release on September 30.

The album follows a cast recording that came out earlier this year and the original 2010 album featuring the voices of Santigold, Sia, St Vincent and more. Here Lies Love premiered at New York’s Public Theater last year and returned for a new season this April. [via Exclaim]



01 The World Isn’t Perfect (Ladies In Blue Remix)
02 It’s So Hot Today (How Are You Remix)
03 Here Lies Love (Club Millennium Mix)
04 Watching History (When She Passed By Remix)
05 Disco with George (Dancing Together Remix)
06 Puffy White Clouds (Sugartime Baby Remix)
07 Please Do (Please Don’t Remix)
08 OOOOOOOH! (Child of the Philippines Remix)
09 Fabulous Yellow Pills (Walk Like a Woman Remix)
10 Good, Good, Good (The Whole Man Remix)
11 Oh, Imelda (Poor Me Remix)
12 Sing for Them (Here Lies Love/Every Drop of Rain Remix)
13 Solano Avenue Shakedown (Solano Avenue Remix)
14 Precious Little Children (You’ll Be Taken Care Of Remix)



Share Tweet