David Bowie unveils Jonathan Barnbrook's reflective artwork for forthcoming compilation

David Bowie has revealed the artwork for his forthcoming compilation, Nothing Has Changed.

Riffing on the title of the three-disc collection, designer Jonathan Barnbrook has chosen three images of Bowie looking in the mirror, each taken at a different point in his career – scroll down to see them.

Barnbrook, who also created the cover for Bowie’s last album The Next Day, told NME why he chose the motif of the pop icon looking into a mirror:

“The theme of Bowie looking in the mirror was a strong enough ‘archetype’ to provide an immediately identifiable visual link but make it clear this was a collection of songs through the experience of one person’s life, not necessarily a specific concept or period of time as albums tend to be.

“It immediately throws up some interesting thoughts: Bowie as the young dandy and the obvious comparisons with Oscar Wilde and The Picture Of Dorian Gray, with the portrait that ages. In the younger photos, how is Bowie imagining his future? Does he, as we all do at that time, feel immortal? Does he see himself in the way that others see him? As Ziggy Stardust, does he see someone putting on an image, and was his true identity lost? With the later images, as a man who has lived an incredibly unusual life, what is he thinking? About his legacy? How the world perceives him?”

The album is out on November 17, coinciding with a new single, ‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’, which will be released as a limited edition 10″ with another 2014 recording as its B-side, ‘Tis A Pity She’s A Whore’. Nothing Has Changed also features the previously unreleased track ‘Let Me Sleep Beside You’. Check out the full tracklist below.

In other less savoury Bowie news, a newly published biography claims the singer once kept a fur-covered “pit” in his living room for orgies with his famous pals, including Mick Jagger.





CD 1:
‘Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)’
‘Where Are We Now?’
‘Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for the DFA Edit)’
‘The Stars (Are Out Tonight)’
‘New Killer Star (Radio Edit)’
‘Everyone Says ‘Hi’ (Edit)’
‘Slow Burn (Radio Edit)’
‘Let Me Sleep Beside You’
‘Your Turn To Drive’
‘Shadow Man’
‘Seven (Marius De Vries Mix)’
‘Survive (Marius De Vries Mix)’
‘Thursday’s Child (Radio Edit)’
‘I’m Afraid Of Americans (V1) (Clean Edit)’
‘Little Wonder (Edit)’
‘Hallo Spaceboy (PSB Remix)’ (with Pet Shop Boys)
‘The Heart’s Filthy Lesson (Radio Edit)’
‘Strangers When We Meet (Single Version)’

CD 2:
‘Buddha Of Suburbia’
‘Jump They Say (Radio Edit)’
‘Time Will Crawl (MM Remix)’
‘Absolute Beginners (Single Version)’
‘Dancing In The Street’ (with Mick Jagger)
‘Loving The Alien (Single Remix)’
‘This Is Not America’ (with Pat Metheny Group)
‘Blue Jean’
‘Modern Love (Single Version)’
‘China Girl (Single Version)’
‘Let’s Dance (Single Version)’
‘Fashion (Single Version)’
‘Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (Single Version)’
‘Ashes To Ashes (Single Version)’
‘Under Pressure’ (with Queen)
‘Boys Keep Swinging’
‘“Heroes” (Single Version)’
‘Sound And Vision’
‘Golden Years (Single Version)’
‘Wild Is The Wind (2010 Harry Maslin Mix)’

CD 3:
‘Young Americans (2007 Tony Visconti Mix Single Edit)’
‘Diamond Dogs’
‘Rebel Rebel’
‘Drive-In Saturday’
‘All The Young Dudes’
‘The Jean Genie (Original Single Mix)’
‘Moonage Daydream’
‘Ziggy Stardust’
‘Starman (Original Single Mix)’
‘Life On Mars? (2003 Ken Scott Mix)’
‘Oh! You Pretty Things’
‘The Man Who Sold The World’
‘Space Oddity’
‘In The Heat Of The Morning’
‘Silly Boy Blue’
‘Can’t Help Thinking About Me’
‘You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving’
‘Liza Jane’



Share Tweet