Einstürzende Neubauten to release World War I-inspired LAMENT on Rough Trade

Prisoners’ testimonies used as source material in industrial icons’ new album.

Einstürzende Neubauten have announced a Rough Trade release for their WWI-themed composition that will have its premiere in Belgium next month.

Titled ‘LAMENT’, the piece is inspired by testimonies of prisoners of war dating between 1914 and 1916, which the band have been exploring in the sound archives at Humboldt University in Berlin and the Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv (German Broadcasting Archives).

The LP, which is set for release on vinyl, CD and digital on November 7, attempts to evoke “the filth and terror of the industrialized 20th-century world at war with itself,” says Rough Trade, adding that archaic nationalist songs, dadaist writing and algorithmic composition techniques were also an influence.

The piece will be performed in Diksmuide on November 8 as part of an event called Against The Neglection: Gone West, the Fall of Diksmuide 1914-2014, and then taken on tour across Europe – see the dates below. [via RA]



01. Kriegsmaschinerie
02. Hymnen
03. The Willy – Nicky Telegrams
04. In De Loopgraaf
05. Der 1. Weltkrieg (Percussion Version)
06. On Patrol In No Man’s Land
07. Achterland
08. Lament: 1. Lament
09. Lament: 2. Abwärstsspirale
10. Lament: 3. Pater Peccavi
11. How Did I Die?
12. Sag Mir Wo Die Blumen Sind
13. Der Beginn des Weltkrieges 1914 (Dargestellt Unter Zuhilfenahme Eines Tierstimmenimitators)
14. All Of No Man’s Land Is Ours

Tour dates:

08 November – Against the Neglection: Gone West, the fall of Diksmuide 1914-2014, Diksmuide, Belgium
09 November – Zinkhütter Hof, Aachen, Germany
11 November – Tempodrom, Berlin, Germany
16 November – Muffatwerk, Munich, Germany
19 November – Koko, London, UK
27 November – Center For Urban Culture, Ljubljana, Slovenia
28 November – Auditorium Manzoni, Bologna, Italy
29 November – Auditorium RAI, Turin, Italy
30 November – Auditorium Parco Della Musica, Rome, Italy



Share Tweet