John Carpenter details debut solo album <em>Lost Themes</em> — listen to 'Vortex' now

The master of horror will release a long-overdue album in 2015.

John Carpenter and Sacred Bones have detailed Lost Themes, an album comprised of new material made without a film in mind.

Lost Themes was all about having fun,” Carpenter says in a statement. “It can be both great and bad to score over images, which is what I’m used to. Here there were no pressures. No actors asking me what they’re supposed to do. No crew waiting. No cutting room to go to. No release pending. It’s just fun.”

Carpenter collaborated with son Cody (of the band Ludrium) and Daniel Davies (who scored I, Frankenstein) on an album that is not “just analogue anymore.” The album is said to evoke memories of Carpenter’s legendary scores, as well as classics like Tubular Bells and Suspiria.

“Both classical music and rock and roll are part of my musical language, which is riff-driven,” he continues. “So if you listen carefully, I’m sure you can hear some echoes from my past. But I’m sure that’s true of any composer. You just bring your music along with you.”

Stream ‘Vortex’ below and visit the mini-site that pairs it with clips from his films. The cover and tracklist for Lost Themes follows. For more Carpenter, check out FACT beginners’ guide to the composer and (in case you missed it somehow) our guide to the best horror scores of all-time.

1. Vortex
2. Obsidian
3. Fallen
4. Domain
5. Mystery
6. Abyss
7. Wraith
8. Purgatory
9. Night



Share Tweet