One of our favorite full-lengths of the past few years, new and improved.

With a new album on the horizon, Kelela will first revisit her stunning 2013 mixtape Cut 4 Me, re-releasing it as a deluxe edition via Fade to Mind on April 7.

Originally a digital-only release, Cut 4 Me (Deluxe Edition) will also be available on vinyl and CD. The tracklist is below; the second disc features remixes by Fade to Mind / Night Slugs producers Kingdom, Jam City, Girl Unit, Nguzunguzu, Rizzla, MikeQ, Neana and Massacooramaan.

“Hearing the Cut 4 Me instrumentals for the first time was an experience I’ll never forget,” Kelela writes on Facebook. “They called it “Sad-Sexy-Scary” and it was the stuff I dreamt my sonic home would be made out of.

“One of the best things about being part of this crew is that the producers have continued to explore and re-imagine Cut 4 Me. In the last year and a half the edits and remixes they’ve sent through have continually brought new life to the material, so much that I’ve often incorporated these versions into my live sets. I’m beyond happy that there’s finally a tangible, touchable way to own the songs, remixes and the beautiful artwork.”

Kelela is currently finishing an EP and a debut album alongside “a lot” of the producers on Cut 4 Me. Stream Kingdom’s “Destruction Before Paradise” mix of ‘Enemy’ below, via Pitchfork. FACT spoke with Kelela back in 2013 about moving beyond imitation, studio serendipity, and her dream productions.

Disc One:
01 Guns & Synths
02 Enemy
03 Floor Show
04 Do It Again
05 Go All Night (Let Me Roll)
06 Bank Head (Extended)
07 Cut 4 Me
08 Keep It Cool
09 Send Me Out
10 Go All Night (Let It Burn)
11 Something Else
12 A Lie
13 Cherry Coffee

Disc Two:
01 Interlude
02 Keep It Cool (Jam City Remix)
03 Enemy (Kingdom Remix)
04 Send Me Out (Girl Unit Remix)
05 Send Me Out (Nguzunguzu Remix)
06 Keep It Cool (Rizzla Remix)
07 Cherry Coffee (MikeQ Almighty Remix)
08 Go All Night (Neana Remix)
09 Go All Night (Massacooramaan Remix)



Share Tweet