The 87th Annual Academy Awards took place tonight at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.

Common and John Legend took home the Oscar for Best Original Song for’Glory’, taken from the film Selma. Backed by a full chorus, the pair also delivered a tear-jerking rendition of the song.

Alexandre Desplat was nominated twice in the category of Best Original Score for his work on The Imitation Game and The Grand Budapest Hotel. The composer won the award for his work on the latter film, ahead of Hans Zimmer’s score for Interstellar.

Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley won the Sound Mixing Oscar for Whiplash while Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman took out the Sound Editing category for American Sniper.

Here are all the music and sound-related award winners.

Sound Mixing
John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin, American Sniper
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga, Birdman
Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten, Interstellar
Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee, Unbroken
WINNER: Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley, Whiplash

Sound Editing
WINNER: Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman, American Sniper
Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock, Birdman
Brent Burge and Jason Canovas, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Richard King, Interstellar
Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro, Unbroken

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game
Hans Zimmer, Interstellar
Gary Yershon, Mr. Turner
Jóhann Jóhannsson, The Theory of Everything

Best Original Song
‘Everything Is Awesome,’ The Lego Movie, Music and Lyric by Shawn Patterson

WINNER: ‘Glory,’ Selma, Music and Lyric by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn

‘Grateful,’ Beyond the Lights, Music and Lyric by Diane Warren
‘I’m Not Gonna Miss You,’ Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me, Music and Lyric by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond

‘Lost Stars,’ Begin Again, Music and Lyric by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois



Share Tweet