The three-track release is the first solo material from the Tom Russell alias since 2012.

Before the acid-heavy MPIA3 project and the tongue-in-cheek floorfillers he made as part of the Blacknecks duo, Tom Russell was simply known as Truss. Though he’s been collaborating with Perc under the name on a number of acid-dreched hardware techno tracks, Russell’s last solo material under the Truss name was released back in 2012.

Now that Blacknecks have disbanded, Russell is free to return to his duties as Truss, with his a new three-track 12″ set for release on Perc Trax soon. As well as showcasing “a new deeper take on his trademark acid sound,” Kymin Lea features a Surgeon-approved title track that’s a visceral combination of rusty kicks, squeaking percussion and wide-eyed rave chords.

The label also states that this will be the first of a series of artist EPs on the label containing only original tracks and no remixes. Each sees the respective artists work with the label’s sleeve designer Jonny Costello “to create a visual identity for their release that perfectly matches their music.” The record is available on 12″ and digital formats on April 13, but in the meantime you can preview the title track below.


A1. Kymin Lea
B1. Clawdd Du
B2. Wyefield



Share Tweet