The Californian drone veteran constructs a spine-tingler from the archives.

For the second time this year, we’re being spoilt with a FACT mix of nothing but original and unreleased music. Woven from the same guitars, tape, modular synths and vintage drum machines that produced his stunning new album on Mexican Summer, A Year With 13 Moons, Jefre Cantu-Ledesma’s session is a neat companion to Torn Hawk’s sprawling, soft-focus mix from January and one we reckon we’ll be coming back to all year long.

The former Tarantel member has dipped into his vast archives to pick out an album’s worth of improvised tracks made between 2012 and 2014, mixing them down to two-track tape while “adding a few FX here and there”. Throbbing synths are smothered in static, guitars are buried in mossy noise and crushed LinnDrum loops heave against each other like tectonic plates, occasionally crumbling away completely – but throughout you can hear traces of the mournful shoegaze and ‘80s pop that bubble under the surface of the new record (an unexpected direction for which we can thank the encouragement of noise guru Pete Swanson, as FACT’s Maya Kalev learned in her recent interview).

“It’s pretty fucked,” he says – and with that as your warning and encouragement, dive in.



Share Tweet