Stuart Howard has liberated another tune from his sophomore album as Lapalux.

‘Puzzle’ sees Brainfeeder’s UK representative bring in the voice of British singer and Bonobo collaborator Andreya Triana to add a yearning, soulful tone to his woozy, jazz-inflected beats.

“It’s a very visual song for me. It’s about a sort of seedy, underground desire, like an old bar that used to have class, getting slowly seedier, to keep up with the demand for exploitation and filth,” says Howard. ‘I think it sums up the whole feel and mood of the record. That kind of sultry, seedy undertone and the pieces of the puzzle not fitting together properly, as if in a state of limbo where you don’t know where you are, but there’s something strangely comforting about it.”

The track is the third to be taken from his second full-length Lustmore, a record loosely based on the hypnogogic state of consciousness between being awake and asleep, and inspired by the way film soundtracks echo their visual narratives. “Whenever I think about the album I think about the bar scene in The Shining,” he says. “There’s something about that strange, hallucinatory psychological madness that relates to the music, both in the making of the actual record and the way it sounds.”

Stream ‘Puzzle’ below and look out for Lustmore on April 6. Lapalux will also launch the album with a party at London’s Rich Mix on April 3 featuring a live A/V set and support from Dream Koala and Prayer.


01. U Never Know (feat. Andreya Triana)
02. Sum Body
03. Closure (feat. Szjerdene)
04. Midnight Peelers
05. Push N’ Spun
06. We Lost
07. Autumn (Tape Interlude)
08. Puzzle (feat. Andreya Triana)
09. Bud
10. Don’t Mean A Thing
11. 1004
12. Make Money
13. Funny Games



Share Tweet