The album shows a “more introspective and personal side” to the veteran artist.

Philadelphia-based synth artist Charles Cohen has announced a new solo album, to be released in May through Rabih Beaini’s Morphine label.

Cohen came to wider attention back in 2013 when Beaini released three albums of archival material from the artist. Covering his output between 1978 and 1989, the releases collected a number of skeletal analog compositions composed mainly for theatre and dance events, with an approach recalling a combination of jazz-style improvisation and early synth experiments.

One of the few owners of one of Buchla’s original semi-modular Music Easel synthesizers, Cohen has remained active in the Philadelphia scene both as a solo artist and as part of a number of collaborative projects, including The Ghostwriters and Color Is Luxury. However, the nine-track Brother I Prove You Wrong is his first full solo release since 1988.

Recorded in Berlin in September 2014, the album was written using his Music Easel, and mastered by Neel, with Beaini offering production help and support. Described by Morphine as an album comprised of “surrealistic textural overlays and industrial miasma,” the nine-tracks are also described as revealing Cohen’s more introspective and personal side.

Brother I Prove You Wrong will be released on Morphine on 2LP format in May, and follows the release of an LP by Indonesian hardcore band Senyawa. Until then, you can check Nathalie du Pasquier’s art and listen to the graceful 13-minute semi-modular dance of ‘Boy and Snake’ below.


A1. Cloud Hands
A2. Sacred Mountain
A3. Visitors of the Sacred Mountain
B1. The Boy and the Snake Dance
C1. Mankind and Mannequins
C2. Formation of Matter
D1. Beirut
D2. Cold War II
D3. Go Deeper And Listen

Synth pioneer Charles Cohen announces new solo album, <em>Brother I Prove You Wrong</em>
Photography by: Nathalie Du Pasquier


Share Tweet