Scottish sample-holic Jaisu will release new album A Long Player on Astral Black next month.

The follow-up to 2013’s A Short Album, we’re premiering ‘Char’ below. Jaisu, whose productions are in a traditional sample ‘n’ MPC vein but have attracted support from the likes of Cashmere Cat and Novelist, tells us that he “ran into [‘Char”s] main sample on a Japanese OST … It’s almost childlike in mood but made harder with the bassline and other samples. I think it’s one of those tracks that I feel is more of a song than just a rap instrumental, so it felt natural to have it begin the record.”

Tracks on A Long Player as a whole, Jaisu tells us, “feel like [their] own entity rather than just a rap beat. It’s more influenced by the stuff that’s being sold as dance music, which is probably a subconscious result of playing more club shows since A Short Album and being around different minded peers, learning & growing … but still trying to bridge the gap from the MPC world.”

You can pre-order A Long Player here, as well as a natty t-shirt/vinyl deal. Stream ‘Char’ below.

1. Char
2. Drum Circle
3. Gone
4. HaHa
5. Jump Around
6. Like Mike
7. Maximus
8. Mrs Blue Sky
9. Psy
10. Satellite
11. Suite In G Minor League
12. Whussamadda



Share Tweet