Foundational Memphis rap, via LA Club Resource.

After linking with Chicago house legend Steve Poindexter, Delroy Edwards’ LA Club Resource imprint is back with another archival album that is seeing a vinyl release for the first time.

The reissue should come as a pleasant surprise for anyone who has heard Edwards’ Southern rap-inspired Slowed Down Funk mixes: Lil NoiD’s 1995 album Paranoid Funk. NoiD was discovered by Juicy J in the early ’90s, and the Blackout-produced tape proved influential in the Memphis rap scene.

LA Club Resource will release the first-ever vinyl version of Paranoid Funk on May 26. Stream ‘Binghampton Niggas’ for a taste of what to expect; the cover art and tracklist follow. For more in this vein, revisit The Essential… Three 6 Mafia.

1. Introlude
2. Criminalistic Knowledge
3. Hoe Call
4. Hamptown
5. Try Me
6. Death Row
7. Load My Clip
8. In the Dark
9. Binghamton Niggas



Share Tweet