The latest release on Power Vacuum comes from a veteran of UK techno.

Joining the crusty-edged, hardware-based dance label is Cylob, aka UK-born, Berlin-based producer Chris Jeffs. After contributing a track to the label’s latest compilation, Vectors 2, the former Rephlex regular will drop a chunky seven-track EP titled Inflatable Hope next month.

Jeffs’ first full vinyl release since 2004 finds him leaping from mercurial IDM blasts (‘Granular Psychosis’) to gentle synth sketches (‘Zattrday’) and prickly analogue house grooves (‘Rosetta’). As label owner Milo Smee explains: “There are seven tracks which were selected from over 100 ideas, sketches and demos he sent me. Some of the tracks were pretty much finished, some had to be worked on.

“The interesting thing is, although he is a hugely respected electronic composer, there hasn’t been a vinyl release since 2004. He has released digitally himself since then, but it’s quite an underground operation. I think he decided to withdraw somewhat from the industry side of things, but continued to write. I felt quite privileged to be able to listen to this music (which was made between the period 2007 and 2014 I think) and select what I thought were the best tracks for Power Vacuum.”

Stream the first track, ‘Concrete Corporal’, and grab the EP on June 23. Meanwhile, check out label boss Smee going Against The Clock on FACT TV.


A1 Concrete Corporal
A2 Granular Psychosis (ECT Mix)
A3 Zattrday
B1 Rosetta
B2 Ticking Over
B3 Mission To Mercury
B4 Pulp The Bass



Share Tweet