The album will be reissued through Hosono’s own Yen Records in the near future.

Yellow Magic Orchestra member Haruomi Hosono will reissue his Philharmony album soon. The LP was originally released in 1982 via Yen Records, the label helmed by Hosono and Yellow Magic Orchestra counterpart Yukihiro Takahashi.

According to the label, Philharmony showcases Hosono at his most “experimental, boundary-pushing and schizophrenic, with the LP veering from wildly abstract beauties like ‘Birthday Party’ and ‘In Limbo’ via mutant synth pop such as ‘Funiculi, Funicula’ to tight funky dance floor fillers.”

As a member of Yellow Magic Orchestra alongside Takahashi and Ryuichi Sakamoto, Hosono pioneered a popular strain of synth-pop that emerged from Japan during the 1980s. For an introduction into the works of Yellow Magic Orchestra, check our essential guide. [via RA]


A1 Picnic
A2 Funiculi Funicura (Denza-Kiyono-Aoki)
A3 Luminescent-Hotaru
A4 Platonic
A5 In Limbo
B1 Living-Dining-Kitchen
B2 Birthday Party
B3 Sports Men/Philharmony
B4 Air-Condition



Share Tweet