The Danse Noire founder will release Of Matter And Spirit in October.

Continuing the relationship with Houndstooth started on last month’s Conscious Cunt EP, Geneva producer Aïsha Devi will release her debut album on the label in October.

Titled after the last book of Devi’s grandfather, a physicist who worked at CERN, Of Matter And Spirit is inspired by her conversations with him about “sound, vibrations, and the parallels between physics and spirituality.”

The record is the next development of the cross-genre club music she’s previously released on her Danse Noire imprint, which has also released records from fringe figures including Vaghe Stelle and IVVVO.

According to the label, the 10-track album provides a “moving landscape of interconnected themes and experimental techniques,” with “vortices of haunting sounds created from her own vocals and production.

“My process of creation takes its source in meditation, mantras, shamanism, healing frequencies… the idea is to trigger a social and spiritual awareness through music,” Devi says of the album in a press release.

Ahead of the album’s release, FACT is premiering the hypnotic “R’n’B incantation” ‘Mazdâ” below. As Devi says: “It’s about burning the ego and finding inner peace. It’s a meta love song.”

Of Matter And Spirit is released on October 2 on vinyl, CD and digital formats – pre-order it from the Houndstooth store.


01. Adera
02. Mazdâ
03. Initiation To An Illusion
04. Numen J
05. Kim & The Wheel Of Life
06. Aurat (Tool)
07. 1%
08. Anatomy Of Light
09. OMA
10. The Saviour On Spilled Blood



Share Tweet