Synth veteran Jean-Michel Jarre has announced full details of his new album, Electronica 1: The Time Machine.

Jarre’s first album in 14 years will be released on October 16 through EDM giants Ultra. We already knew that it featured some high-profile collaborations, but we weren’t prepared for the sheer absurdity of this tracklist. Electronica 1 features appearances from The Who’s Pete Townshend, M83, Boys Noize, Laurie Anderson, Moby, Massive Attack’s 3D, Armin van Buuren, Gesaffelstein, Tangerine Dream, John Carpenter, Depeche Mode’s Vince Clarke, Fuck Buttons, Little Boots, Air and Lang Lang. What a dinner party that would be.

Watch a trailer for the album and check the artwork below. Another new Jarre album, Electronica 2, is set to follow early next year.

News of Electronica was first revealed back in March, via Jarre’s Facebook page. The first three singles from it were released in June, featuring 3D, Gesaffelstein and Tangerine Dream (vinyl versions were released through VF Editions.) ‘If…!’, featuring Little Boots, will be debuted on Jarre’s Vevo channel this Saturday, August 29.

1) The Time Machine (JMJ & Boys Noize)
2) Glory (JMJ & M83)
3) Close your eyes (JMJ & AIR)
4) Automatic (part 1) (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
5) Automatic (part 2) (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
6) If..! (JMJ & Little Boots)
7) Immortals (JMJ & Fuck Buttons)
8) Suns have gone (JMJ & Moby)
9) Conquistador (JMJ & Gesaffelstein)
10) Travelator (part 2) (JMJ & Pete Townshend)
11) Zero Gravity (JMJ & Tangerine Dream)
12) Rely on me (JMJ & Laurie Anderson)
13) Stardust (JMJ & Armin van Buuren)
14) Watching you (JMJ & 3D (Massive Attack))
15) A question of blood (JMJ & John Carpenter)
16) The train & the river (JMJ & Lang Lang)

unnamed (2)



Share Tweet