UK bass mechanic will kick off his imprint with a 12″ from Ruckspin and Quark.

J.Sparrow has launched a new label called Navy Cut. The Leeds-based producer was central in blurring the lines between techno and dubstep in the late 2000s, delivering a trio of 12″s via Pinch’s Tectonic imprint. He released an album titled Circadian through the Bristol label in 2010, although following that his output slowed. A 2012 EP on Deep Medi was the last we heard from Sparrow until he returned to Mala’s label with a new three-tracker in July.

The first entry into the Navy Cut catalogue will come from UK producers Dom Howard and Edward Gooden, aka Ruckspin and Quark. Howard and J.Sparrow have previously collaborated as Author, delivering an album via Tectonic in 2011. Ruckspin and Quark’s Speak Back EP collects two collaborative tracks, with the title cut remixed by Croatian producer Egoless.

Speak Back will be released via Navy Cut in November. [via RA]


01. Speak Back
02. Daydream
03. Speak Back (Egoless Remix)

Read next: The 40 best dubstep singles





Share Tweet