The hip-hop group join Deep Purple and Cheap Trick on the list of inductees in 2016.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its five inductees for 2016: rap outfit N.W.A. and rockers Cheap Trick, Chicago, Deep Purple and Steve Miller.

Despite its name, any artist is eligible for inclusion 25 years after the release of their first single or album. N.W.A. have been shortlisted four times, but this year’s Compton biopic probably had something to do with them reaching the top spot.

“This means that the group’s mark is solidified,” Ice Cube told Rolling Stone. “We got some of the most creative, talented people in N.W.A that’s ever been compiled in one group. It’s just exciting that the group as a whole gets recognized by the whole industry as Hall of Fame-worthy.”

“When we started N.W.A, I couldn’t  have imagined this,” Dr. Dre said. “I never thought the type of music we were making would receive such a high accolade. I have always done what I love to do, so to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is unreal. I am humbled to be included in such an amazing group of great artists.”

The five acts will be inducted at a ceremony at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on April 8, and join the likes of Nirvana, Kiss and Green Day. N.W.A. join only a handful of rap acts to receive the accolade, including Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, Beastie Boys, Run-D.M.C. and Public Enemy.



Share Tweet