British DJ rounds up international ensemble to celebrate Cuban music.

Gilles Peterson is set to continue his love affair with Cuba and its music in 2016 via a three-part project.

Titled Havana Club Rumba Sessions, the project includes a documentary depicting the lineage of rumba music on the island. It is subtitled La Clave, in reference to the rhythmic tool used in Afro-Cuban music. Alongside this are a remix album featuring a line-up of international artists and a free sample pack.

The line-up for the remix album includes Japanese producers Daisuke Tanabe and Yosi Horikawa, Montreal’s Poirier, France’s debruit, London’s Al Dobson Jr, Mo Kolours, and Reginald Mamode IV, and Germany’s Motor City Drum Ensemble among others.

You can stream the Motor City Drum Ensemble remix of ‘The Rumba Experiment’ below as well as download Reginald Mamode IV’s remix of ‘Havana Cool Out’ (via Bandcamp).

For those interested in playing with the sounds on offer, the Havana Club Rumba Sessions Experiment is a sample pack available to all. You can download it from Peterson’s site and tag your remixes with #havanaclubrumba for a chance to win prizes.

A trailer for La Clave and the remix album’s full tracklist are below. The album is due for release on March 11, and you can pre-order on iTunes.

Havana Club Rumba Sessions:
1. Yambu (Daisuke Tanabe & Yosi Horikawa AtaMix Remix)
2. The Rumba Experiment (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)
3. La Plaza (Poirier Remix)
4. Weird Melody (Max Graef & Glenn Astro Remix)
5. Okay Cuba (débruit Remix)
6. Havana Sessions (Pablo Fierro Remix)
7. Havana Cool Out (Reginald Omas Mamode IV Remix)
8. Rumba Version (Al Dobson Jr Remix)
9. Rumba Tierna (Tenderlonious Remix)
10. Emergency Rumba (Pépé Braddock Remix)
11. Yuka Music (Mo Kolours Remix)
12. Mi Yimboro (Djoyvan Remix)



Share Tweet