FACT’s #1 video game soundtrack of 2015 is being pressed to wax.

The soundtrack from side-scrolling indie shooter Axiom Verge is being released on limited vinyl.

Released last year, Axiom Verge is a modern love letter to sprawling games like Metroid and Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, taking place in a labyrinthine alien world with all the gigantic boss battles and controller-smashing frustration you’d expect.

Much of the game’s charm came from developer Thomas Happ’s catchy yet sinister 16-bit soundtrack, so good it landed itself the top spot in FACT’s list of the 15 best video game soundtracks of 2015.

The vinyl doesn’t feature all of the 18 tracks you’ll find on the digital version, but it does come with an insert featuring original sketches from the game and liner notes written by Happ himself.

There will be just 1,000 copies available when the soundtrack goes on sale at 12pm EST/5pm GMT on January 18, 750 with marbled purple vinyl and a select 250 with “Axiom Disruptor” red and orange sunburst vinyl.

You can buy the vinyl here, and revisit FACT’s 15 best video game soundtracks of 2015.


A1. The Axiom
A2. Trace Awakens
A3. Otherworld
A4. Rusalka
A5. Inexorable
B1. Apocalypse
B2. Cellular Skies
B3. Amnesia
B4. Phosphene
B5. Occlusion Lens
B6. Trace Awakens



Share Tweet