Before Pan Sonic, there was Gagarin-Kombinaatti.

The first recordings from Mika Vainio’s early band Gagarin-Kombinaatti have been released on Finnish label Sähkö.

The recordings date back to the period between 1983 and 1985, when Vainio was working in a slaughterhouse and teamed up with Janne Koski and Tapio Onnela to form an industrial band.

The 12-track 83-85 album was compiled from original cassette recordings, only one of which had been released until now – on a 2CD collection of Finnish avant-garde music.

You can preview the 2LP and digital release over at Boomkat, and frankly it makes Throbbing Gristle and Einstürzende Neubauten sound like Spandau Ballet.



01. Survos
02. Vartioparaati
03. Toisto
04. Tiedonantaja kirjoittaa
05. Ukaasi
06. Reikäkorttia
07. Massa
08. Protonisuihku
09. Alkuperä
10. Polvella
11. Osat
12. Raskas / Chemical Weapons



Share Tweet