Gentium is made up of tracks produced between 2007 and 2010.

Detroit producer MGUN aka Manuel Gonzales is releasing his debut album on London’s Don’t Be Afraid label in April.

Titled Gentium, the eight-track LP is comprised of tracks recorded between 2007 and 2010, half of which were “recorded on cassette then digitized on a Windows millennium edition PC”. The other half were produced in Gonzales’ current home studio, most in one take with “hardly any multi-tracking”.

Gonzales first appeared on Kyle Hall’s Wild Oats label back in 2010, but has since achieved cult status with records for a string of labels including The Trilogy Tapes, Berceuse Heroique, Third Ear and FIT Sound, covering everything from hardware techno to vintage electro.

Gentium is released on April 1 on 2LP and digital formats – you can get a taste of the album with the gutteral techno of ‘NVR’ below.


A1. Pok
A2. Half Past 3
B1. Don’t Hurt Yoself
B2. Past Due
C1. Bed & Breakfast
D1. Veyra
D2. Nobs



Share Tweet