Sense of Purpose combines industrial bangers and Warp-inspired melodies. 

The label arm of Bloc has announced its first album, the debut long-player from Bristol techno producer JoeFarr.

The 11-track Sense of Purpose follows a string of hard-edged techno releases for labels including Turbo, Power Vacuum and Leisure System, and according to the label explores “the many facets of his musical personality.”

As well as a handful of the techno bangers he’s made his name with, the album also features “beautifully crafted synth workouts” and tracks that take their cues from early Warp’s melodic IDM and ambient.

Released on March 7, the album follows 12″s on the label from Alex Coulton and Jake Chudnow. You can get a taste for the record with the video for ‘Post Bloc’ below.

Sense of Purpose will be launched at this year’s Bloc Festival in Minehead, which takes place from March 11-13 – more information on that here.


01. RPM (Dedication)
02. Post Bloc
03. Halftone
04. Careless
05. AM05
06. Coping Mechanism
07. Blacklisted
08. Minehead
09. Crunk
10. I Might Just Do That
11. Asleep



Share Tweet