The first taste of the supergroup.

Synth-powered track ‘A Hundred Ropes’ is visually accompanied by a short film created by the Lockey brothers’ video and film partnership Hand Held Cine Club. It’s the first in a series of shorts that will be released over the next few months.

Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai fame, Rachel Goswell from Slowdive and Editors’ Justin Lockey, along with his brother Justin, formed Minor Victories last July.

They release their self-titled debut album on June 3 via Play It Again Sam.

The project was brought together by “brief meetings, mutual acquaintances and overall serendipity,” with the album made by “swapping ideas, songs, fragments and finished recordings via broadband connections.”

“Starting a band where some of the people have never met each other is something I’ve never heard of,” says Braithwaite.

Full album tracklist:

01. Give Up The Ghost
02. A Hundred Ropes
03. Breaking My Light
04. Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard)
05. Folk Arp
06. Cogs
07. For You Always
08. Out To Sea
09. The Thief
10. Higher Hopes



Share Tweet