Skepta’s ‘Shutdown’ didn’t make the cut.

Portishead’s Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury were awarded Best Film Score for their work on Ex-Machina at today’s (May 19) 61st annual Ivor Novello awards, which were held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Chance The Rapper’s 2010 hit ‘All My Friends’ – co-written with James Carter, Oliver Lee and Cass Lowe aka Snakehips – scooped The Ivor for Best Contemporary Song. Skepta’s 2015 anthem ‘Shutdown’ had also received a nomination in that category, making it the first time grime had been recognised at the ceremony since Dizzee Rascal was given an Inspiration award in 2010.

A hauntingly beautiful electronic score built from synthesizer, strings and manipulated samples, the Alex Garland-directed Ex Machina soundtrack is available to stream in full. Hear the Chance track below.



Share Tweet