The nu-disco king goes back to his roots.

Todd Terje has revealed his cover of Yellow Magic Orchestra’s synth-pop classic ‘Firecracker’ recorded with his live band the Olsens.

The band initially formed to bring to life Terje’s 2014 debut full-length, It’s Album Time. Their first studio collaboration, The Big Cover-Up EP, also includes versions of tracks by Martin Circus, Boney M and Vangelis, plus remixes from Daniel Maloso, Dan Tyler, Prins Thomas and Øyvind Morken, and is out on June 17.

Check out the radio edit of ‘Firecracker’ below (here’s the original for comparison).

The band previously revealed Maloso’s remix of their version of Boney M.’s ‘Baby Do You Wanna Bump.’ [via Pitchfork]


01 ‘Firecracker’ (Yellow Magic Orchestra / Martin Denny)
02 ‘Disco Circus’ (Martin Circus)
03 ‘Baby Do You Wanna Bump’ (Boney M.)
04 ‘La Fete Sauvage’ (Vangelis)
05 ‘Baby Do You Wanna Bump’ (Daniel Maloso remix)
06 ‘Firecracker’ (Dan Tyler remix)
07 ‘La Fete Sauvage’ (Prins Thomas remix)
08 ‘Disco Circus’ (Øyvind Morken remix)

Read this next: The five ingredients that make Todd Terje’s It’s Album Time so tasty



Share Tweet