The LP features guest spots from Busta Rhymes, Common and D’Angelo.

J Dilla’s posthumous third studio album The Shining is being reissued as a limited edition 7″ box set to mark its 10th anniversary.

The album, which was about three-quarters complete when Dilla died on 10 February 2006, was passed over to fellow Detroit artist Karriem Riggins who oversaw its completion that same year.

The 10 x 7″ box set will include all 12 album singles plus instrumentals on the B-side. It’s due for release on August 26 but available to pre-order from the Amazon site now.

Watch candid footage of J Dilla in a 2002 recording session with Common and The Soulquarians, as shared by Questlove in February last year.



Disc: 1
1. Geek Down (Feat. Busta Rhymes)
2. Love Jones
3. Geek Down (Feat. Busta Rhymes) [Instrumental]

Disc: 2
1. E=Mc2 (Feat. Common)
2. E=Mc2 (Feat. Common) [Instrumental]

Disc: 3
1. Love (Feat. Pharoahe Monch)
2. Love (Feat. Pharoahe Monch) [Instrumental]

Disc: 4
1. Baby (Feat. Madlib & Guilty Simpson)
2. Baby (Feat. Madlib & Guilty Simpson) [Instrumental]

Disc: 5
1. So Far to Go (Feat. Common & D’angelo) [7″ Edit] 2. So Far to Go (Feat. Common & D’angelo) [7″ Edit Instrumental]

Disc: 6
1. Jungle Love (Feat. Med & Guilty Simpson)
2. Jungle Love (Feat. Med & Guilty Simpson) [Instrumental]

Disc: 7
1. Over the Breaks
2. Body Movin’ (Feat. J. Rocc & Karriem Riggins)

Disc: 8
1. Dime Piece (Feat. Dwele)
2. Dime Piece (Feat. Dwele) [Instrumental]

Disc: 9
1. Love Movin’ (Feat. Black Thought)
2. Love Movin’ (Feat. Black Thought) [Instrumental]

Disc: 10
1. Won’t Do
2. Won’t Do [Instrumental]

[via The Vinyl Factory]

Read next: Essential instrumental hip-hop from the last 15 years



Share Tweet