That’s a new album every two weeks on average.

Mars Volta-guitarist Omar Rodríguez-López will find time away from At The Drive In, Antemasque and Bosnian Rainbows to release 12 new solo albums this year.

As part of a project with John Zorn’s Ipecac Records, Rodríguez-López will begin with Sworn Virgins on July 15 and release a new album every two weeks before ending with the final release on December 16.

As Consequence Of Sound points out, the records all contain material recorded between 2008-2013 and features contributions from frequent Mars Volta collaborators. For starters, Sworn Virgins features Le Butcherettes’ Teri Gender Bender and multi-instrumentalist Deantoni Parks (who delivered an Against The Clock last winter).

All 12 albums can be viewed below and will be compiled into a CD/LP boxset afterwards.

Sworn Virgins – July 15
Corazones – July 29
Blind Worms Pious Swine – August 12
Arañas en La Sombra – August 26
Umbrella Mistress – September 9
El Bien Y Mal Nos Une – September 23
Cell Phone Bikini – October 7
Infinity Drips – October 21
Weekly Mansions – November 4
Zapopan – November 18
Nom De Guerre Cabal – December 2
Some Need It Lonely – December 16



Share Tweet