Lady Leshurr, Katy B, Little Simz and Nao will go up against Mvula in the best female category.

The nominees for this year’s MOBO Awards have been announced, with Kano and Laura Mvula taking four nominations each, while Skepta has scored three.

Mvula, who was awarded two MOBOs in 2013 for best female and best R&B/soul act, has been nominated in the best female, best album, best R&B/soul act and best video categories this year. Kano has landed nominations for best male, best album, best song and best grime act.

Following last week’s Mercury Prize win, Skepta could also take home the MOBO for best male, best album and best grime act at the ceremony, which takes place Friday November 4 at Glasgow’s SSE Hydro. The UK’s MOBO (Music of Black Origin) Awards only introduced a best grime act award in 2014, after years of lumping grime and hip-hop together under one category.

Beyoncé, Rihanna, Drake, Kanye West and Justin Bieber are all in the running to be crowned best international act – see the full list of nominations below.

Kano was the very first grime artist to win a MOBO back in 2005 – watch his performance below (featuring some amazing set design) and be sure to check out the London MC’s recent FACT confessions.

The MOBO Best Album award will be decided by the MOBO Panel, which is made up of 300 people including record label representatives, DJs, journalists, artists and songwriters. The ceremony will be broadcast on ITV2.

MOBO Awards 2016 nominees:

Best female act
Lady Leshurr
Katy B
Laura Mvula
Little Simz

Best male act
Craig David
Tinie Tempah

Best newcomer
AJ Tracey
Izzy Bizu
Kojey Radical
Nadia Rose
Ray Blk
Laura Mvula – The Dreaming Room

Best album
Giggs – Landlord
Kano – Made In The Manor
Michael Kiwanuka – Love & Hate
Skepta – Konnichiwa

Best hip-hop act
Section Boyz
Little Simz
Wretch 32

Best song

Craig David Feat. Big Narstie ‘When The Bassline Drops’
(Produced by White N3rd)

Kano Feat. Giggs & Wiley ‘3 Wheel-Ups’
(Produced by Swifta Beater)

Tinie Tempah Feat. Zara Larsson ‘Girls Like’
(Produced by KDA)

(Produced by PRGRSHN for PARALLEL)

Jorja Smith ‘Blue Lights’
(Produced by Joice)

Naughty Boy Feat. Beyoncé & Arrow Benjamin ‘Runnin’’
(Produced by Naughty Boy)

Abra Cadabra Feat. Krept & Konan ‘Robbery (Remix)’
(Produced by Yamaica)

Chase & Status Feat. Frisco ‘Funny’
(Produced by Chase & Status)

Ghetts – ‘You Dun Know Already’
(Produced by Sir Spyro)

M.O ‘Who Do You Think Of’
(Produced by Fred Gibson)

J.Hus ‘Friendly’
(Produced by J5)

Lethal Bizzle ‘Wobble’
(Produced by Diztortion)



Share Tweet