We’ll take two please.

Nintendo is to release a Japanese counterpart to its forthcoming NES Mini console, the Famicom Mini.

Released in 1983, the Famicom (or “Family Computer”) included the same circuitry under the hood as the Nintendo Entertainment System, but sported a very different look for the Japanese market.

Nintendo’s miniature Famicom features 30 built-in games like its NES counterpart, but includes a few different titles. Classics such as Kid Icarus and Final Fantasy are absent, but beat ’em ups River City Ransom and Yie Ar Kung-Fu get a second lease of life.

Despite the notable omissions, the Famicom Mini still includes several classic games with equally essential soundtracks, including The Legend of Zelda, Super Mario Bros. and Castlevania.

The Famicom Mini will be released in Japan on November 10 for 5,980 yen, which is about $59/£47. The NES Mini is released in the USA and Europe the same month, but we’ll probably end up buying both.

Check the full list of included games below and revisit FACT’s list of the five best NES soundtracks of all time.

  • Donkey Kong
  • Mario Bros.
  • Pac-Man
  • Excitebike
  • Balloon Fight
  • Ice Climber
  • Galaga
  • Yie Ar Kung-Fu
  • Super Mario Bros.
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Atlantis no Nazo
  • Gradius
  • Ghosts ‘n Goblins
  • Solomon’s Key
  • Metroid
  • Castlevania
  • Zelda II: The Adventure of Link
  • Tsuppari Ozumo
  • Super Mario Bros. 3
  • Ninja Gaiden
  • Mega Man 2
  • River City Ransom
  • Double Dragon II: The Revenge
  • Super Contra
  • Final Fantasy III
  • Dr. Mario
  • Downtown Nekketsu Koushinkyoku: Soreyuke daiundoukai
  • Mario Open Golf
  • Super Mario USA (the US version of Super Mario Bros. 2)
  • Kirby’s Adventure


Share Tweet