Listen to the first track from the Bristol crew’s new record label.

Bristol’s Young Echo crew have announced the launch of their new record label, which kicks off with a 12″ from Rider Shafique.

The Bristol MC’s record features two tracks, which were originally written for, and performed on a tour of schools and community platforms across the UK.

According to the label, the tracks deal “with issues of race, class and the ridiculousness an individual of colour has to confront during daily life, with the stigmas attached to pre-conceptions and obstacles applied to people coined as ‘ethnic minority’.”

‘I-Dentity’, whose stark, minimalist video is streaming above, was produced by Young Echo member Sam Kidel aka El Kid. B-side track ‘Freedom Cry’ was produced Amos Childs of Jabu.

The 12″ will be available on November 5, with a digital version following on November 11. According to the label, its next release will be a two-disc collection of Young Echo tracks, expected to be available in early 2017.

Earlier this year, Sam Kidel released an album of ambient muzak played to confused call centre workers on The Death of Rave.



Share Tweet