Featuring members of Swans and Deerhoof.

Xiu Xiu, the jagged experimental pop project led by Jamie Stewart, have announced their 10th album FORGET will be released next year. Though the album is their proper follow-up to 2014’s charred Angel Guts: Red Classroom, it’s only one of many projects the band worked on since.

In addition to Stewart’s work with Lawrence English as HEXA, the band made a covers collection of music from Twin Peaks, released an album with Merzbow and collaborated with Mitski on a song for John Cameron Mitchell’s upcoming film How to Talk to Girls at Parties.

All of these experiences are cited as inspirations for FORGET and judging from the starry first single ‘Wondering’, it’s a record as pretty and warm as Angel Guts was cold and hellish.

“To forget uncontrollably embraces the duality of human frailty,” Stewart explains in a statement about the album’s title. “It is a rebirth in blanked out renewal but it also drowns and mutilates our attempt to hold on to what is dear.”

The record was produced by John Congleton, Deerhoof’s and Xiu Xiu’s Angela Seo and includes collaborations with Swans guitarist Kristof Hahn, minimalist composer Charlemagne Palestine, LA ballroom icon Enyce Smith and legendary drag artist Vaginal Davis.

Listen to ‘Wondering’ below and look for FORGET February 17 via Polyvinyl.


01. ‘The Call’
02. ‘Queen of the Losers’
03. ‘Wondering’
04. ‘Get Up’
05. ‘Hay Choco Bananas’
06. ‘Jenny GoGo’
07. ‘At Last, At Last’
08. ‘Forget’
09. ‘Petite’
10. ‘Faith, Torn Apart’



Share Tweet