Listen to the first track, ‘Anxi’ featuring Jenny Hval.

We’ve had an ear on Kelly Lee Owens since hearing her vocals on Daniel Avery’s Drone Logic LP and now the Welsh-born musician is set to release her debut album.

Due out March 24 on Smalltown Supersound, Kelly Lee Owens features a tribute to Arthur Russell, ‘Arthur’, as well as a co-write from Avery on ‘Keep Walking’.

“He wrote music and stayed true to his vision up until the day he died, ” explains Owens on her love of Russell. She praises his refusal to compromise: “Those are the kind of people I look up to – people who know what they want.”

Jenny Hval – who released FACT’s favourite album of 2016 – also appears on the LP’s lead single, ‘Anxi’, which you can hear below. Owens reworked Hval’s track ‘Kingsize’ last year.

Kelly Lee Owens follows the release of Owens’ Oleic EP last autumn. Watch our documentary with Owens, which we filmed around her debut headline show at the Servant Jazz Quarters in Dalston in early 2016.


01. ‘S.O.’
02. ‘Arthur’
03. ‘Anxi ft. Jenny Hval’
04. ‘Lucid’
05. ‘Evolution’
06. ‘Bird’
07. ‘Throwing Lines’
08. ‘CBM’
09. ‘Keep Walking’
10. ‘8’



Share Tweet