The long-awaited film sequel hits UK cinemas this Friday (January 27).

Six songs from Edinburgh’s 2014 Mercury Prize-winning Young Fathers appear on the new sequel to Trainspotting. Director Danny Boyle has described the trio as “the modern heartbeat” of T2 and now you can hear one of the band’s first new tracks released for the film.

The gospel-punk brawler ‘Only God Knows’ features vocals from the Leith Congregational Choir and has been referred to as “a rush” by Boyle who has also called it the sequel’s answer to ‘Born Slippy.’ Listen below.

Young Fathers appear on the film’s soundtrack alongside Iggy Pop, Underworld and The Prodigy – see the full tracklisting below and read FACT’s review of T2: Trainspotting – which we call “a flawed nostalgia trip with a modern heartbeat.”

Full tracklisting:

01. Iggy Pop – ‘Lust for Life’ (The Prodigy Remix)
02. High Contrast – ‘Shotgun Mouthwash’
03. Wolf Alice – ‘Silk’
04. Young Fathers – ‘Get Up’
05. Frankie Goes to Hollywood – ‘Relax’
06. Underworld /Ewen Bremner – ‘Eventually But (Spud’s Letter to Gail)’
07. Young Fathers – ‘Only God Knows’
08. The Rubberbandits – ‘Dad’s Best Friend’
09. Blondie – ‘Dreaming’
10. Queen – ‘Radio Ga Ga’
11. Run D.M.C. vs. Jason Nevis – ‘It’s Like That’
12. The Clash – ‘(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais’
13. Young Fathers – ‘Rain or Shine’
14. Fat White Family – ‘Whitest Boy on the Beach’
15. Underworld – ‘Slow Slippy’



Share Tweet