CPU Records has re-recorded two classic Detromental tracks.

Sheffield’s CPU Records will mark its 50th release by pressing a reissue 12″ with a difference: both tracks have been rebuilt from scratch.

The Move 12″ features two bleep techno classics originally released by Sheffield duo Detromental in 1991. The original masters were lost, so CPU founder Chris Smith offered to record them again.

CPU’s new versions of ‘Move’ and ‘Rewind’ have the blessing of Detromental members Dean Marriott and Lloyd Douglass, and were recorded with many of the synths used to make the originals.

Both ‘Move’ and ‘Rewind’ were originally released in 1991 on a very limited vinyl run, with the 12″ featuring the latter track now going for as much as £84 ($107) on Discogs.

According to a press release, the tracks were legendary on the Sheffield scene, with CPU boss Smith comparing the duo to LFO, Forgemasters and Nightmares on Wax.

The Move 12″ is released on 12″ on August 18. Listen to the original ‘Move’ alongside clips of the new versions below.

Read next: The 20 best bleep techno records ever made



Share Tweet