Early synth experiments from the Hi-NRG pioneer.

Dark Entries have announced Mechanical Fantasy Box, a collection of newly uncovered Patrick Cowley archive material recorded between 1973-80.

The collection features 13 unreleased songs and takes its name from Cowley’s homoerotic journal, selections from which are being released alongside the new album. Featuring early explorations into funk, ambient and more abstract, psychedelic fare, the tracks selected showcase Cowley at his most experimental.

Cowley rose to prominence in the late ’70s producing for disco icon Sylvester, including ‘You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)’, before going on to pioneer “The San Francisco Sound” with Hi-NRG dance music. He also composed a number of soundtracks for the gay porn films of John Coletti.

In memory of the producer’s death at 32 due to AIDS-related illness, proceeds from the album will be donated to the San Francisco AIDS Foundation.

Mechanical Fantasy Box arrives on October 19 via Dark Entries. A special double vinyl LP edition will come packaged with a book of the same name, featuring excerpts from Cowley’s journal.

Check out the album artwork, images of the book and the tracklist below.


01. ‘Out of Body (Intro)’
02. ‘Right Here, Right Now’
03. ‘Broken Dishes’
04. ‘Breakdown’
05. ‘Moving Bodies I’
06. ‘Grisha’s Tune’
07. ‘Sensitivity’
08. ‘Shrouds’
09. ‘Lumberjacks in Heat’
10. ‘Mechanical Fantasy Box’
11. ‘Thrill of the Hunt’
12. ‘Before Original Sin’
13. ‘Sea of China’

Listen next: FACT mix 601 – Dark Entries



Share Tweet