Post-punk meets experimental electronics on a session from the São Paulo trio.

RAKTA are Carla Boregas, Paula Rebellato and Maurício Takara, a three-piece based in São Paulo. Combining a traditional post-punk setup of bass, drum and vocals with synths and effects units, RAKTA’s music crosses into the realms of psych-rock and experimental electronics.

The group has been recording since 2013, with founding members Boregas and Rebellato remaining a constant presence. Their releases have arrived primarily on São Paulo’s Nada Nada Discos label, and in 2019 they released a collaborative EP with Brazilian band DEAFKIDS.

In this episode of Patch Notes, RAKTA perform a dynamic 30-minute session at Estúdio El Rocha in São Paulo, in which a motorik rhythm provides the backbone for oscillations between brief moments of quiet and peaks of extreme noise.

RAKTA’s latest album is a another collaborative release with DEAFKIDS (who recently recorded their own episode of Patch Notes). The limited edition vinyl release is a live album recorded at São Paulo’s SESC Pompéia in 2019 – order it here, and find more of RAKTA’s music at Bandcamp.


Directed, filmed and edited by Pedro S. Küster
Sound recording by Fernando Sanches

Watch next: Patch Notes: XIII



Share Tweet